With the increasing popularity of rideshare companies like Lyft and Uber comes a rise in accidents involving rideshare vehicles. If you’ve been hurt in a rideshare accident, recovering compensation may not always be as straightforward as other kinds of car accidents. An Uber and Lyft accident lawyer can explain all your options and help you pursue financial compensation.
We are dedicated to advocating for the rights of accident victims like you. Let us take the pressure off your shoulders by vigorously fighting for the financial recovery and justice that you deserve. You can trust that our firm will be prepared to go to court if necessary to hold those liable for your injuries and losses accountable.
Don’t wait to contact an attorney after being injured in an Uber or Lyft accident. Reach out to Silkman Law Firm Injury & Accident Lawyer for a free initial case evaluation to review your legal rights with a rideshare accident attorney from our firm.
Ridesharing Laws in Arizona
Under Arizona law, rideshare services are known as “transportation network companies” (TNCs). TNCs must follow certain legal obligations to lawfully operate within Arizona. These obligations include particular driver qualifications to work for a rideshare service. They also require rideshare companies to provide certain levels of insurance coverage for their drivers.
TNCs must perform criminal background checks and driving history reviews of every driver who signs up to work for the service. Once accepted to drive for a TNC, rideshare drivers must have an annual brake and tire inspection performed by a qualified third party. TNCs must also adopt a zero-tolerance policy for alcohol and drug use by their drivers before or while on duty.
Arizona’s rideshare laws state that a rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance policy is not required to cover the driver if they get into an accident while driving for a TNC unless the driver’s policy has a special agreement providing coverage for the driver’s rideshare activities.
However, drivers are required by law to have commercial liability coverage. The coverage amounts vary as follows, depending on the circumstances at the time of the accident:
- The driver is logged into the rideshare mobile application and waiting for a ride request — They must have commercial liability insurance coverage of $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident of bodily injury coverage and $20,000 per accident of property damage
- The driver has accepted a ride request or has a rideshare passenger in their vehicle — They must have commercial liability insurance coverage of $250,000 per accident, plus $250,000 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage.
Can I Sue Uber or Lyft for an Accident?
Suing Uber or Lyft for a rideshare accident may not always be possible even if the rideshare driver bears responsibility for the crash. Unlike taxi drivers, rideshare drivers are usually not considered employees of the rideshare company. Instead, they are normally classified as independent contractors.
A business that hires an independent contractor typically does not have liability for negligent acts the contractor commits while providing services to the business that hired them. So, rideshare companies cannot be sued as liable employers of negligent rideshare drivers.
However, Uber or Lyft may be subject to legal liability if they committed negligence in vetting a driver for their service, as required by Arizona law. For example, they could be held responsible for your losses if they didn’t perform a required background check or enforce a zero-tolerance policy on the use of drugs and alcohol.