It’s important for both dog owners and victims of dog bites to be informed on dog leash laws in Arizona. Dog owners must ensure the public’s safety, no matter how harmless they believe their dogs are.
Phoenix City Code 8-14
- Dogs are NEVER permitted to go at large (at large meaning not in captivity or confinement).
- Dogs older than 3 months must wear a collar or harness with a valid license tag when off the owner’s property.
- No person in charge of any dog shall permit such dog in a public park or upon any public school property unless they are physically restrained by a leash, enclosed in a car, cage, or similar enclosure
- In a rabies quarantine area, no dogs shall be permitted at large. Each dog shall be confined within an enclosure on the owner’s property, secured so that the dog is confined entirely to the owner’s property, or on a leash not to exceed six feet in length and directly under the owner’s control when not on the owner’s property.
- Dogs that are used for the control of livestock, being used or trained for hunting, being exhibited or trained at a kennel club event or engaged in races approved by the Arizona racing commission, and or being transported to and from such events, need not wear a collar or harness with a valid license attached provided that they are properly vaccinated, licensed and controlled.
- Dogs are permitted in public parks and school property without restraint if they are being exhibited or trained at a recognized kennel club, public school, or park sponsored event.
The penalties for disobeying dog leash laws depend on how often the dog owner offends. They can vary from:
- Misdemeanor charge(s)
- $250 – $5,000 charge
- 5 day imprisonment
If you’ve been a victim of a dog bite, you every right to contact an attorney. At Silkman Law Firm Injury & Accident Lawyer, we’re more than prepared to face the dog owner’s insurance head on and get you the recovery you deserve. Contact us today for a free consultation.